Follow

How do I create and edit Security Roles for users?

Roles and permissions determine the application access points and available functions for individual users. Usually, a set of permissions is given to a specific role to accomplish those tasks. For example, users responsible for modifying the warrant numbering configuration will likely be assigned a security role that has those permissions granted whereas other users likely will not be assigned that security role. Users can be assigned multiple security roles.

Each role may also control access to a set of storage locations. The storage locations will define whether the user will be able to access that storage location either for storing items in it or for querying the location to verify information about the current state of the items stored within it.

Roles are associated with one or more permissions and one or more storage locations. Each individual user will be associated withone or more roles and, therefore, will have access to one or more storage locations.

Notes:

  • At least one site must already be configured before roles can be created.
  • New roles created and assigned to users will not take effect until the users have logged off and logged back into the application.

Add a New Role

?name=Add_a_New_Role.png

In the Quicklist, click on Admin (or the plus sign next to it) to expand the Administration section of the Quicklist. Click on the plus sign next to the Staff Member link (do not click on the Staff Member link itself). In the expanded Staff Member section of the Quicklist, click on the Role Permissions link (1). The Role Permission Access screen will appear.

Click the Add Role button (2) to add a new role. The Add Site Role window wlil open.

?name=media_1352738073870.png

Type in the name of the new role and click OK. Click Cancel to cancel the role creation process and return to the Role Permission Access screen.

The new role will appear in the list of Site Roles on the Role Permission Access screen.

Rename a Role

?name=Rename_a_Role.png

To rename a role, click on the Edit Site Role icon. The Add Site Role window will open; change the name of the role and click OK. Confirm the role name change by looking at the list of roles.

Delete a Role

?name=Delete_a_Role.png

To delete a role, click on the Delete Site Role icon associated with the role in the list of roles.

?name=media_1352738623420.png

In the dialog box that opens, click Yes to permanently delete the role or No to cancel and return to the Role Permission Access screen.

Edit a Role / Add or Remove Permissions and Locations

?name=Edit_a_Role__Add_or_Remove_Permissions_and_Locations.png

To edit a role by adding or removing permissions or storage locations, click on the Role Permissions icon associated with the role in the list. The Role Permission Access screen will appear.

?name=media_1352738853731.png

Permissions and storage locations can be assigned to specific roles by placing checkmarks in the associated checkboxes.

To view only the permissions related to system administration, select the System option (1) at the top of the screen. To view and select or deselect some or all of the permissions, select the All option (2).

Place a checkmark in the checkbox (3) next to any of the permissions that will be assigned to this role. To assign storage locations to this role (and, therefore, to the users who will be assigned this role), place a checkmark in the storage location checkboxes (4).

Click OK when finished. Clicking Cancel will cancel the selection process and return the user to the Role Permission Access screen.

See the Security Permissions topic for more information about individual permissions.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk